(Recipe Me) : Nono’s Pilaf – My own version


DSC09584When I read about Pilaf/Pilav/Pulao/Pholao/Pilafi/Palau whatever it bears the name, I found it is simply like a rice cooked with broth and mix with meat , fruir or/and veggies in one dish as well as depend on local’s taste. It is famous from Eastern Europe, Middle East, Central Asia until South Asia and Africa. Different version is also prevalent in Latin America and Caribbean. It’s quite identical way with several Indonesian’s rice dish like Nasi Uduk, Nasi Liwet, Nasi Bogana, Nasi Megono etc.

After reading the ingredients, I think it’s very easy for preparing it and then I tried to create my own version and you know, I’ve already made it twice! only using magic jar. This is also inspired by a local website which explain about how easy making a pilaf. Well, I try to modify and improved it by myself based on my taste. I even offered my friend too and maybe one day I will invited many people to enjoy my version.

How to do it?

Ingredients

2 cups of rice (Basmati is too expensive here, so I replace it with Pandan Wangi)
100 gr of chicken breast fillet, cut it into small pieces
25 gr black ear mushroom, chop well
25 gr champignon mushroom
3 green bean strings, cut into small parts
1/2 yellow bell pepper
1/2 red bell pepper
20 gr shredded carrot
20 gr chopped cauliflower
4 chopped garlic
6 chopped onion
1/2 chopped big onion (Indonesian call it as Bawang Bombay, I don’t know how come it’s called like that..maybe it is onion’s siblings who goes to school in India once upon a time…kidding and no offense)
4 habanero chilis
3 birdeye chillis
1 lemongrass
1 cinnamon

Water (depends on the rice)
Some butter
Salt
Pepper
Nutmeg powder
Chicken broth or block

The steps
1. Preheat the frying pan, melt the butter, add the rice and just stir for a moment until it is covered by the butter. Put it in the magic jar.
2. Pour some water, add salt, pepper, nutmeg powder and chicken broth at the same time.
3. Reheat the pan, stir the onion family and follow by all the ingredients. Don’t stir until all well done, just heat it.
4. Put all ingredients into the magic jar.
5. Close your magic jar and turn on the cook panel.
6. Just wait until it’s done.
7. Enjoy your meal.
When I was eating it, I feel like in the middle of Middle East or Central Asian feasts hehehehe.. Thanks for the inspiration.

That’s so easy and full of nutritions (and fat, meh?)

You know, when I forgot to turn off the magic jar, my pilaf was drought. But, then I find an idea to convert it into nasi goreng by adding more spices and some ketchup. Voila! and its high fat and calory concentrations make me full of energy for one day. Thanks God.

1979648_10153427668964335_8000784302495423810_n

Tangerang, 15 November 2015

Bambang Priantono

Leave a Reply

