(Goody Foody Indonesia) : The Foodgasm -Soto Manggala of Central Kalimantan


DSC09187This is one part of my favourite Kalimantan’s traditional food ( I prefer to call it Kalimantan to Borneo). It is called as Soto Manggala. Soto has already been part of Indonesian’s gastronomy and resembles to what Westerners call soup. Soto can be found from Sumatera till Papua Island with different variations in accordance to local tastes. In many cases, soto is also part of Indonesia’s comfort food along with typical soup. However, soup is tend to be light, colourless or in many recepies are creamed. However most Indonesia’s soups are clear.

There are two ways to serve soto. The first is mixed with the rice, and the second one is separated from the rice. It depends on preferences and traditions. I personally tend to mix the soto with the rice and I enjoy it so much. There are various soto can be found in Indonesia such as soto medan, soto padang, soto betawi, soto bandung, tauto tegal, sroto sokaraja, taoto pekalongansoto lamongan, soto daging madura, soto sulung, soto ambengan surabaya, soto kerbau kudus, soto banjar, rujak soto banyuwangi (mixture between soto and rujak), soto banjar, soto manggala, soto kediri, coto makassar, soto babat, soto tangkar, soto mie bogor, soto babi (Balinese), and soto kaki betawi.

Soto can be also found in Malaysia, Singapore and Suriname where it was actually brought by Javanese migrants in the early 20th century.

About Soto Manggala itself, I just tasted it when I was attending The Signatures Restaurants at Hotel Indonesia Kempinsky Jakarta as part of food writing competition last week. Here I just talk about the soto and its uniqueness among other sotos. I found the soto in the last term of my lunch. My tummy was actually almost full, but I was still curious of other Kalimantan’s delicatessens and finally my eyes fell down to this soto. I had some part and I saw small pieces of cassava found along with the chicken and lightly spicy broth. I could taste some herbs aroma like cinnamon (kayu manis) and star anise (we call it bunga lawang or pekak), and it was so wonderful as it combined cassava and chicken.

I asked the chef about this soto. She said that soto manggala is from Pangkalan Bun, a city in Kotawaringin Barat regency, Central Kalimantan. Manggala itself means cassava in local language and the soto has already been famous particularly in the city and its surroundings. It is fragrant and savoury. Actually, the soto should be cooked with chicken feet as it will make the soto more savoury and thicker broth as the feet released its collagen. But as not all people like chicken feet, then, it can be replaced with chicken breast fillets. Soto Manggala itself is served with some fried onions, lime juice, chili and scallion chops. We don’t need to add rice as cassava itself has got many carbohydrate contents and it has already been part of Indonesian’s diet after its introduction several centuries ago.

Well, what kind of soto I have to try again? I hope I’ll find it again…as far as it has no pork contains hehehe.. and I hope I can explore more about Indonesian traditional food as many as I can in the future.

This is my personal note…

Tangerang, 5 September 2015

Bambang Priantono

4 Komentar

Filed under culinary, goodyfoody, indonesia

4 responses to “(Goody Foody Indonesia) : The Foodgasm -Soto Manggala of Central Kalimantan

  1. and reading it at this hour

Tinggalkan Balasan

