(Eid-Ul-Fitr Celebration) : Our Lovely Eid Dishes


Assalamualaikum Wr.Wb

Eid Mubarak for all Muslims in the world! I have already returned from my Eid vacation. Just one week, but it’s nice because I could meet all my big family members as for this year, my home was the host for Eid, next year will be my aunt’s house. Eid-ul-Fitr or Idul Fitri or Lebaran, is the day of purity when we have already finished our compulsory as Muslim, observing fasting month. I don’t know about my Ramadan’s scores this year, let Allah decides and I just do my best.

Okay, for this posting, I just tell about what we eat during Eid. Usually, we tend to have some spicy and greasy food, along with ketupat. Ketupat is a typical dish which must be on Nusantara’s table during Eid celebration. However, for the condiments, it depends on the regions, ethnicity even among families. In many traditions, ketupat is always served along with rendang (spicy meat) and typically Sumatrans or Peninsular Malays. I ever celebrated Eid in Malaysia 8 year ago and had ketupat, rendang and peanut sauce, along with other dishes. Hmmm, that’s so yummy but after returned to Indonesia, my weight boosted up to 5 kg more than before (OMG, where’s my fasting result? heheheh).DSC09023But the best thing I’ve gotten is I know more about different Eid cuisine and even though among Indonesian and Malaysian look alike, but actually It’s not exactly the same as proverb says “Serupa tapi tak sama” (similar but not the same). In my area, many people do not serve ketupat on the day of Eid, but they serve it seven days after Eid called Lebaran Ketupat. Until 1990s, my family still follow the traditions, but because of time elapse and for practical reasons, we serve ketupat on the day. It’s okay, as if we have to wait for lebaran ketupat, we have to play truant for working or school then.

For this year, we’ve got many alternatives. For breakfast, okay..we have ketupat, telor petis, sayur tempe, and opor ayam. But for lunch, it’s served along with bakso (meat balls). It’s refreshment after having greasy foods and at least reduce your fat (only a few portions, then). We had bakso after praying Juma and combination between bakso and siomay as well as clear soup plus hot chilli sauce make the hot weather got hotter…hehehe..oops…better. We had many chats, nostalgia, sharing and also wefie together. But I always try to avoid one sensitive question : When will you get married?. Allright…just wait till I get someone special after 10 years then. Bakso is my best friend at the time!

DSC09014

In my family’s homeDSC09022

Along with a big pan of bakso! DSC09024My own portion

Two days later, my elder uncle invited us again to his house….the menus are exactly different and so East Javanese styled! Rawon (black meat soup), pecel (Indonesian styled salad), bakwan jagung (corn fritter), semur (Indonesian stew), fried tempe and of course Krupuk). We also had chat again and again even though most of them particularly the elders meet almost everyday. But the youngers, as they lived far away, we discussed anything from marriage, children, and also the trending topics….gemstone! My cousins talked about it as they’re the experts and I knew one of them had already searched various gemstones from Aceh till Sulawesi. He showed the black jade and I forgot what else as I’m not interested in it. However, I got many new things during the discussions along with black coffee.

DSC09111In my elder uncle’s house

You know, when lunch time came, I mixed between pecel and rawon. It resulted as Pecel Rawon (mixture between pecel and rawon. It’s typically from Probolinggo, East Java). The taste was so great! But my step aunt forgot to add salted egg and mendol (rolled spicy tempe) as rawon’s condiment. I just said “It’s okay…next time.”

DSC09114Pecel Rawon of Probolinggo

I love Eid besides of family reunion and return home (mudik), it’s also the best moment to have good food (though we should also remember and help the needful ones). We don’t need something new, but hopefully new spirit and new beginning as we believe after Ramazan, we’re reborn. May Allah bless us. Amen.

Tangerang, 23 July 2015

Bambang Priantono

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Mabel Kwong says:

    Very nice to hear you had a good Eid and a good holiday, Nono. A time of feasting, and also time to spend with your loved ones and appreciate them and what you have. Ketupat is one of my favourite foods – you can eat it with anything as it goes well with anything. Love how you labeled the food in the photos 😀

    1. But the worst thing was when I returned….I was trapped in a very very long traffic jam, then. Hehehehe..

      1. Mabel Kwong says:

        Oh no. The traffic jams. When I used to live in Singapore, my family would go back to Malaysia during the Hari Raya holidays. Stand-still traffic jam everywhere 😀

        I’m sure you brought back lots of good snacks with you.

      2. Hahaha, yes of course dear…My mom made some of them, particularly rose biscuit and choco chips ones. But for this year she didn’t made nastar (tat nenas if Malaysian said), and kaastengels.

      3. Mabel Kwong says:

        So yummy, chocolate chip biscuit. Now I want some biscuit myself 😀 And I love tat nenas, pineapple tarts. One of my favourite Chinese New Year treats.

      4. Hahahaha….here too…but we call it nastar. And the fillings are not always be pineapple.

Leave a Reply

