(First 2015 Weekly Photo Challenge) : Old (but Renewed) and New / Lama (yang diperbarui) dan Baru


Happy New Year for all my friends, either here or there! May Allah bless us in this year and beyond.

This is my first posting in 2015 after my absence as I was on my vacation. I spent my almost 2 weeks-holiday in Malang, East Java, the second largest city in East Java and the place where I was born and raised up. Every six months I visited there and spent my time with my parents and surely my nephews as well as niece.

Sometimes I go around the city alone, and see the differences since last visitation. I’d like to tell some about my journey, but step by step as I have just arrived from there. My favourite place is always the old square and its surroundings. In short, there are two things I have seen there so far. Renewed and New ones.

First is surely Alun-Alun Bunder (Round Square) or in the colonial time was called ‘Jan Pieterzoon Coen Park’ or ‘Alun-Alun Tugu (Monument Square) as its iconic monument which represents independence. It’s initially founded in 1946, but it’s bombed by Dutch in 1948 and re-established between 1950-1953. It was opened for the first time by our founding father, Soekarno in 1953 and since then, it becomes Malang’s icon even in the coat of arms.

alunalun1     Alun-Alun Bunder

DSC08108 DSC08114 DSC08115

New flowery lamps

Its lotus pond is iconic and the new thing I can see there is flowery lamps for replacing the old ones. I didn’t know the intention, but I believed that the government wanted to emphasize Malang as the flower city and ‘Parijs van Oost Java’ as it used to be.

The second one and the newest is Patung Singa /Lion statue. It consists of three lions and it reaches 7 metres in height. It is Arema Football Club (a famous FC from Malang) symbol, and called as Singo Edan (Javanese : Mad Lion), represents braveness and strength….or more. Those statues are located 100-200 metres of Alun-Alun Bunder and in front of Malang train station, in Trunojoyo amusing park which becomes a new tourism destination, especially for locals. The Lion Statue is just opened after Christmas.

singoedan

Lion Statues/Patung Singa of Malang

DSC08089

Roaarrrr

Special for this week’s challenge.

Selamat Tahun Baru
Happy New Year for you all

Tangerang, 4 January 2015

The second one and the newest is Patung Singa /Lion statue. It consists of three lions and it reaches 7 metres in height. It is Arema Football Club (a famous FC from Malang) symbol, and called as Singo Edan (Javanese : Mad Lion), represents braveness and strength….or more. Those statues are located 100-200 metres of Alun-Alun Bunder and in front of Malang train station, in Trunojoyo amusing park which becomes a new tourism destination, especially for locals. The Lion Statue is just opened after Christmas.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. penuhcinta26 says:

    Kok ono sing manjat2 ya, Cak? Apa gak berisiko merusak patungnya?

    1. Belum ada larangannya sih. Mudah2an besok udah.

      1. penuhcinta26 says:

        Iya, sayang soalnya. Moga2 juga dipagari saja sekalian biar gak dirusak baik sengaja maupun tidak.

  2. Mabel Kwong says:

    Oooo. So this is where you grew up. It looks interesting, especially those new lion statues. It reminds me of the Merlion statue in Singapore (or Singapura…if you want to call it that!). Doesn’t look like too many people there, so quiet. Selamat Tahun Baru to you too, Nono! Stay safe, stay kind 😀

    1. Yes Mabel, this is new one…without fish tail. Hahaha. It’s still 8 am but actually there’re lotza families spent their holiday then. I portrayed in separate photos.

      Happy new year for you tooo 🙂

      1. Mabel Kwong says:

        That is good to hear Indonesians are going to see the lion statue. It does look magnificent…imagine what will happen if the lions come to like. They do look very life-like 😀

Leave a Reply

