A Word A Week Photo Challenge : Create/Mencipta/Membuat – Rojak Seller


This is a culinary type which can be found in Jakarta and its surroundings. It is usually sold door to door or in the crowded places. It is made of mashed fruits which mixed with hot spicy peanut sauce and mashed in a grinder. It’s been rarely found and I met him incidentally near bus stop. The fruits are usually semi-riped. Chopped into pieces and then mashed into grinder, but with the hot and spicy peanut sauce.

We call here Rujak bebek or Rujak tumbuk or Mashed Rojak

For this challenge

 

DSC06054 DSC06051

 

 

DSC06053

 

Tangerang, 14 August 2014

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Mabel Kwong says:

    Rojak. I love that. Eating rojak in Singapore, I remember it wasn’t grinded too much…more like th fruits were chopped into pieces, that’s all.

    1. Here rujak is various…you should try this kinda rujak one day hehehehe..

      1. Mabel Kwong says:

        I hope so. But I can’t eat spicy. So I hope there’s non-spicy peanut sauce. I LOVE non-spicy peanut sauce!

      2. Hahahaha, …spicy is the best taste for me. Till I was in high school, I hated spicy foods so much, but after living in Surabaya and studied at university, I learnt to have it as my meal.
        Maybe you just try using one chilli…while myself…maybe six or seven hehehe.

      3. Mabel Kwong says:

        Sounds like you have a strong tongue and stomach to eat spicy! I don’t. Once I ate Maggi Kari and after each bite I had to drink a glass of milk to keep my tongue cool. Never again.

      4. Hehehehehe…it seems your tongue is so sensitive. Do you like sweet food?

      5. Mabel Kwong says:

        I love sweet food. Ais kacang, chocolate, Nutella, you name it, I will eat it 🙂

      6. Most of Javanese foods are sweet tasted as they always add brown sugar as part of their condiments. Heheheheh..

        Es kacang merah, hahahaha….I like it so much.

      7. Mabel Kwong says:

        I actually like my ais kacang rainbow. All colours 🙂 I think I’d like Javanese food since I like brown sugar…just not too much!

      8. Just try it once you come here one day. Gudeg is one of the sweetest meal. Made of young jackfruit and cooked for hours. It’s good with ingkung ayam and boiled egg or sambal goreng

  2. Never tried this kind of rojak before. Is it an Indon recipe that you grind all ingredients?

    1. This kind of rujak is prominent in Jakarta and its surroundings.
      Other places also know shredded rujak which is called rujak serut or rujak gobet in my hometown

  3. Well, usually it’s caled roejak instead of rojak in english mas,
    in culinary term, the texture of roejak bebek is minced eventough the literrary translation is mashed or roughly mashed
    lovin it for it’s tangy, spicy and hotness, nice shoots aniway

    1. Hahahahaha..terima kasih banyak ya. 🙂
      Roejak is Dutch spelling…but actually Roedjak

  4. Kang Onk says:

    Salam kenal…
    Saya juga dari Situbondo kang…

Leave a Reply

