(A Note from Dieng Plateau) : Telaga Warna/ Colored Lake


This is the beginning of my note. As long as I live in Central Java (I am from East Java), I have visited Dieng Plateau three times. On May 2012, July 2012 and yesterday. Every visitations, I came to different places within the beautiful plateau. With its more than 2000 meters above the sea level in average, Dieng Plateau covers six regencies such as Banjarnegara, Batang, Kendal, Pekalongan, Temanggung and Wonosobo. However, the best way to reach Dieng Plateau is via Wonosobo as it has got better road and easy access (except when there is a landslide). Tourists from Jogjakarta prefer to pass Wonosobo to Banjarnegara as its access.

Dieng Plateau is famous of its vegetables crops as well as its iconic Purwaceng (Pimpinella Pruatjan) and Carica fruit which preserved, as well as its legendary temples and craters.

There were three places I visited yesterday. For the first, Telaga Warna or Colored Lake. It is located in Dieng village, Wonosobo and it has got many beautiful places to be visited. Actually Telaga Warna was formed of crater and sometimes you can smell its sulphur. The color is usually between milky green, green or sometimes dark. In its milky green part, there’s no any fish, but in other parts I could see some ducks swimming. Besides Telaga Warna, there is another lake called Telaga Pengilon. Those twin lakes are surrounded by Dieng mountains and it gave fenced effect, particularly in the early morning.

In some parts, you can find bubbling holes either in the shore or the greenish part of lake. It is caused of sulphur content. Besides those twin lakes, there are several caves used for meditations named Gua Semar, Gua Pengantin, Gua Jaran and Gua Sumur. Those caves are considered sacred, that’s why I can find some offerings put there. Even I could find wild berries because my friend told me about the secret place (If you’re lucky). It tasted sour and sweet. My friend said it is good for hikers for energy sources.

Telaga Warna has got good facilities such as dustbins, musholla (praying place), toilets and souvenir shops. It’s better for coming with your friends or the locals who know exactly about this place.

Enjoy it!

Image

Telaga Warna 1

ImageTelaga Warna 2

ImageTelaga Warna 3

ImageTelaga Warna 4

32 Comments Add yours

    1. Like Alpine, right? though there’s no snow..only breeze

      1. Hanno Phenn says:

        Sort of from your point of view.

      2. And what about your point of view?

      3. Hanno Phenn says:

        To me it is a place far away were you are and not very similar to the place I am.

      4. 🙂
        I love the place, I came there with my friend before visitors came and made any noise. It’s a very peaceful and maybe if I’ve much time I’ll sit for hours…though it’s also mysterious.

      5. Hanno Phenn says:

        I can imagine that.I have such a place as well it is tucked away not very far from my place .I use this place to collect myself and reload my energy cells.

      6. Hanno Phenn says:

        It is just a few minutes by food away .It is a little meadow on the banks of the local Brook . There is nearly no traffic sound just nature and the song of birds.

      7. Oo..do you mean foot right? hehehehehe….
        Actually every one has got a place for being alone, escape from crowds and stress.

      8. Hanno Phenn says:

        Sorry of cause ,still a bit sleepy .It is just 5:40 in the morning.

      9. Hehehehee….here I am still checking my students’ national report.

      10. Hanno Phenn says:

        And have you teacher them well? Have they done well?

      11. Yeach, in average. This is the end of school year and the new one is about to be started on July.

      12. Hanno Phenn says:

        Well it sounds like the same here as far as I now from some friends with kids. I suppose it it all over the world the same.

      13. That’s the essential.

  1. dhaverst says:

    Ngeri thook….. Cak..cak…cak

  2. ryan says:

    bagus banget mas. kebayang kalau duduk di pinggir. tenang, adem, damai bisa berpikir jernih kali ya

    1. Hilang segala kegalauan.

      1. ryan says:

        bukannya tambah galau mas?

      2. Tergantung sih. Kalau galau berat bisa2 nyebur dong ke telaganya.

      3. ryan says:

        makanya. harus ditemenin kalau yang lagi galau parah 😀

  3. anotherorion says:

    ketemu kang bimo ora mbang?

  4. Semua warna kawah begini ya:d

    1. Cenderungnya memang seperti itu.

  5. Chas Spain says:

    How amazing – what a mystical place this must be. I remember as a child going to a beach with black volcanic sand – it was very hard to really make sense of sand being black for some reason. Just like here – the colours are too surreal for the common mind.

    1. Yes, many people use this place for meditation. It can be seen from some caves located near the lake. Sometimes I feel indescribable thing when I was there, I don’t know why and maybe this is the mystery.

Leave a Reply

