(Today’s tought) : Earth Day…


Earth Day has been celebrated everywhere in the world. It is intended to remind us about how important earth as the place where we’re now. The day is commemorated to raise our consciousness related to how we care our environment, at least from our surroundings. In my country, many institutions also celebrated from schools until universities. Even some university students went to the road by giving recycled flowers to pedestrians, motor riders and car drivers. I didn’t get the flowers as I was at my office at the time. Hehehehe.

However, some pedestrians do not care about it and when I was walking to my home, I saw many thrown recycled flowers on the street. I am thinking : New waste…

Much alike earth hour. Here, many people do not really care about it. We must blacken out our electricity during an hour and followed by all parts of the world. Only minorities still join the movement. Why? As for many Indonesians, it’s not just ‘earth hour’ but ‘earth hours’ where for particular times, our electricity will be blacked out. For an hour, or even six hours by National Electricity Company (Perusahaan Listrik Negara). Either by announcement or not. So that’s why ‘Earth Hour’ is still just for minorities. At least we can make our electricity bill much cheaper. Hehehehe… For the future, maybe we need more than just campaign for Earth Hour, but action, and it’s not easy here.

The best thing for Earth Day for me is, recycle what we don’t use anymore. We can use our scrap papers for more useful things. It depends on your creativity and how to manage it well. Only one small step for our better planet. I believe many people here have done many things to celebrate and continue not just earth day, but for all year round. Global warming has become a sensitive issue and we should associate to reduce its effect.

Well, this is my opinion about Earth Day and Earth Hour.

Happy Earth Day for all

Semarang 23 April 2013

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Hanno Phenn says:

    Grant Post ,I only can Support You on this One .I try to recycle as much as I can I still use a recycled Apple Powerbook it is now 13 years old and still running and my Blackberry is still a old one and second Hand. I normally try to travel on foot or by public transport . It is of cause just a single Person but if more People will follow we can archive so much more.

    Happy Earth Day for all

    1. Yupe, and the smallest thing can affect others if we’re consistent on it.

      Happy Earth Day too…

  2. tinsyam says:

    kemaren gugel keren loh ada matahari dan bulan lewat..

  3. danirachmat says:

    May our earth last for many generations after us Pak.

Leave a Reply

